Scholarships and Bursaries

Norm Quan Memorial Bursary

Applicants must be registered full-time in a recognized Canadian post-secondary educational institution and be a member in good standing for at least two years in CUPE 1975 (University of Saskatchewan),  OR  have a parent, legal guardian or spouse with at least two years continuous membership in CUPE 1975.  Applicants or sponsors must have attended at least three membership meetings in the past 12 months.

Four  $1,000.00 Bursaries will be available.

2022 Recipients: Zara Abraham, Aaron Vukelic

2021 Recipients: Isuru Ekanayake, Reece Forster, Millia Shiffman, Mason Beaulieu

2020 Recipients: Christine Wilson, Reece Forster and Mason Beaulieu

2019 Recipients: Ashellin Van De Voord, Louisa Tomasiewicz, Reece Forster, Nicole Rapin

2018 Recipients:  Louisa Tomasiewicz, Melissa Jones, Nicole Rapin, Reese Forster

2017 Recipients:  (new non essay format introduced 2018)
Sara Drimmie, Melissa Jones, Brittany Sopatyk, Alex Wojcichowsky

2016 Recipients: Danielle Malbeuf, Andrew Rapin, Nicole Rapin, Jensine Trondson

Application form

Glen Makahonuk Memorial – CUPE 1975 Training & Development Fund

This bursary is made possible by a trust fund established by President George Ivany and The University of Saskatchewan in memory of Glen Makahonuk (1951-1997) to recognize his nearly 20 years of leadership to members of CUPE 1975.

Glen was a long-time Union activist who served the CUPE 1975 membership as President (11 years), and as chair or a member of numerous other local committees.  He worked tirelessly and in solidarity in the provincial, federal, and international arenas to make changes that would ensure rights to workers everywhere.

Glen’s intelligence, perseverance, and incredible commitment to education, history and unionism earned him the respect of his union colleagues as well as those he faced across the table.

This scholarship provides awards for training and professional development to members of CUPE 1975 in good standing who have demonstrated community volunteerism and/or union activism; with preference to candidates with union activism.  These awards are not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) annually.

Application form:  

%d bloggers like this: